23 November 2011 – Wednesday

By

November 23, 2011The Korner3 Comments

It’s hump day today for most all people, except those of us who have the good fortune to have Thursday and Friday off because of the Thanksgiving Holiday, and if that’s the case, then today is your Friday.  Unfortunately, it’s not my Friday but my “hump day” because I have to work at the Bat Cave tomorrow.  Oh well, there were many, many years I worked Thanksgiving Day at The Net and we were always busy.  I had expected Wednesdays with Mr.Ragtime to be posted today, but there was a miscommunication and so I am frantically trying to get something up that doesn’t look like it was thrown on.  Photo by Kat.

From Rich Lueck who sends me scoop now and again and if you’re on your way down to San Felipe to spend time with loved ones or just a free meal, here’s a recent road report.  “Friday the 18th, my wife and I drove North leaving SF a little after Noon. After driving the 2.5 miles on the dirt part by the construction, we came to the part being paved. The paving equipment had the new road down to one lane on the East side of the HWY. There was only room for one way traffic. No flag person to control this and very heavy south bound RACE support traffic. We & others had to wait for several dozen cars before we could continue. We just made it through the single lane when another group of cars headed South.”  Thanks Rich.  Photo by Kat.

I did something very odd for me last night; I remembered my user name and password to my Yahoo account and I have about 11,000 messages in there, dating back to 2004.  I’ll bet that bit of news interested no one but this information from our Secretary of Tourism is good news and I did watch a few of the videos. “Dear friends of the Tourism Sector:  On this channel we share the link to access the first five episodes of the season, “Mexico, One Plate at a Time” presented by renowned Chef Rick Bayless and dedicated to Baja California, which is being broadcast on PBS national reps in the United States in various countries.  To access these videos you must copy the link and paste it into the navigation bar and use the password assigned to each of these episodes.  Receive a cordial greeting:
Videos of the “Mexico One Plate at a Time” Chef Rick Bayles
1er episodio:

http://vimeo.com/26475258

password: wings
2do episodio:

http://vimeo.com/27067837

password: little red van
3er episodio:

http://vimeo.com/27828059

password: boats
4to episodio:

http://vimeo.com/27305043

password: old fence
5to episodio:

http://vimeo.com/28126004

password: the beach
This weekend is also the Arts and Crafts fair; the Tamale Festival and the Pete’s Camp Fireman’s Ball and if you’re never been to the Percebu Poker Run, it’s a blast.

2011 BANK EXCHANGE RATES -  DAILY RATE @   US DOLLAR/MEXICAN PESO

Monday, April 18th
$1.00
$11.72
Wednesday, April 20th
$1.00
11.62
Tuesday, June 7th
$1.00
11.70
(10.90 @ local Oxox stores!!)
SIEMPRE mas bajo!!
Monday, June 27th
$1.00
11.91
Thursday, June 30th
$1.00
11.74
Friday, September 02, 2011
$1.00
12.34
Friday, September 23, 2011
$1.00
14.00
Monday, September 26, 2011
$1.00
13.57
Tuesday, September 27, 2011
$1.00
13.33
(11.40 @ local Oxox stores!!)
Wednesday, September 28, 2011
$1.00
13.37
Thursday, September 29, 2011
$1.00
13.42
Tuesday, October 04, 2011
$1.00
14.01
Wednesday, October 05, 2011
$1.00
13.74
Friday, October 07, 2011
$1.00
13.27
Monday, October 10, 2011
$1.00
13.29
Tuesday, October 11, 2011
$1.00
13.35
Thursday, October 13, 2011
$1.00
13.31
Friday, October 14, 2011
$1.00
13.31
Monday, October 17, 2011
$1.00
13.26
Thursday, October 20, 2011
$1.00
13.44
Friday, October 21, 2011
$1.00
13.44
Monday, October 24, 2011
$1.00
13.61
Tuesday, October 25, 2011
$1.00
13.41
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
$1.00
13.43
Thursday, October 27, 2011
$1.00
13.23
Monday, October 31, 2011
$1.00
13.13
Tuesday, November 01, 2011
$1.00
13.74
Friday, November 04, 2011
$1.00
13.36
Tuesday, November 08, 2011
$1.00
13.36
Thursday, November 10, 2011
$1.00
13.52
Friday, November 11, 2011
$1.00
13.46
Tuesday, November 15, 2011
$1.00
13.56
Monday, November 21, 2011
$1.00
13.91
Tuesday, November 22, 2011
$1.00
14.08
That was in a nice little chart form, but naturally, I need to put columns in and it’s a pain, so you can read it here just as well.  It’s been a long time since the Peso was 14 to 1.  Okay, gotta get going or I’ll be late.
More tomorrow, I promise.  Have a great Thanksgiving Day tomorrow and drive carefully if you’re on the road.

3 Responses to “23 November 2011 – Wednesday”
  1. Ricardo

    La Gata,
    A reminder to your readers that Wednesday night features San Felipe’s own 2AM Band at the JollyMon from 6 till 9:30. Come out and enjoy some great music and wonderful SandRail pizza.

  2. Susan Young

    Hope you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving Kat.

  3. bella

    hi kat,
    my husband and i were very lucky to spend a whole 12 days down at our house in san felipe . we just got back and now its back to work and reality. have a happy thanksgiving to you and your family

Leave a Reply